Top 5 Bollywood Love Songs

This post was originally sent out as part of my Valentine’s Day Newsletter and I thought it would be good to share in the blogosphere as well! And anyway, I think of this as Valentine’s Week.

Haven't seen the movie but this was the perfect picture for my post.

____________________________________________________________________________________

On this day week dedicated to the doings of the heart, I want to share with you some of my favorite love songs. As you may know, Bollywood – the movie industry based in Bombay (now known as Mumbai) leads the world in the number of movies produced. Indian movies are famous for their song and dance sequences, mostly around the themes of love, loss and heartache.

Any time there is a hint of attraction or the promise of new love, and a stern and overly traditional parent or evil gangsters get in the way of that love being requited, the hero and heroine break out into song and dance. Poems, songs and letters are often more powerful in getting your feelings across when you’re tongue tied. So when words are sometimes inadequate to express how your heart feels, jabh pyaar kisi say hota hai, when you fall in love with someone or if you can’t find the words to express those turbulent thoughts rolling through your heart, below are my top 5 Bollywood songs of all time that hopefully capture a thing or two about mohabbat or love. I’ve tried my best to translate the meaning behind the Hindi song titles to English. So much in lost in translation: the words are lyrical in Hindi but sound so flat in English. Where available, the videos of the songs display English subtitles.

It was a lot of fun to put this compilation together and I have to thank my friends for helping me . I spent a few blissful hours feeling all ooey gooey and my heart going pitter patter. Who knows, maybe you’ll serenade your sanam or lover with one of these songs!

To those of you familiar with Bollywood, I’m sure you’ll argue with my list! You know how hard it is to narrow it down to just five. What’s your favorite love song Bollywood or otherwise? How does listening to it make you feel?

So drum roll please, here it comes…

Best 5 Bollywood Love Songs *of all time*

Chura Liya Hai Tumne Jo Dil Ko (Now that you’ve stolen my heart, don’t spurn my love)

Met someone and they simply snatched away your heart? Here’s a goosebump inducing song that got Dharmendra’s attention when the sexy Zeenat Aman sang it for him in the 1970’s movie Yaadon Ki Baaraat.

Tu Bin Bataaye Mujhe Ley Chal Kaheen (Without telling me where take me away someplace)

Yearning to get away with the love of your life? Do you find peace only when he is happy? This is a slow and sweet song from Rang De Basanti, a movie that was nominated for the Best Foreign Language Film at the 2006 BAFTA Awards.

Ek Ladki Ko Dekha Tho Aisa Lagaa (When I saw her, she seemed to me like…)

He meets her and falls in love. He sees her and her beauty in everything. She is a blooming rose, sunshine in winter, a moonlit night, and a dancing feather. The movie, 1942: A Love Story, is set in the midst of India’s struggle for freedom.

Pehla Nasha (The first love, first intoxication)

Another song about that indescribable feeling of the first taste of love, the restless heart that yearns for its love to be reciprocated. From the 1992 sports drama movie, Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikander

Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam (I’ve given away my heart)

To give the person you love their freedom back must be one of the hardest things in the world. In the movie Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam, Ajay Devgan helps his wife Aishwarya Rai find her first love. Fortunately, she has a change of heart and comes back to him.

Love Always

Veena

4 Comments

Filed under Holiday, India

4 responses to “Top 5 Bollywood Love Songs

  1. That is the perfect picture for you post 🙂 I love the idea of Valentines week!!

  2. nice list that is…..just a little error. the ‘chura liya hai tumne’ song was picturised on zeenat aman and vijay arora,not dharmendra 🙂

  3. Yasir

    Khair sha hado pa pta di p0ha na kem

Leave a Reply

