An Indian meal in 15 minutes?

If you only have 15 minutes, can you still cook an Indian meal?

It’s been a busy day. I had to submit my quarterly taxes, edit a video and compose a newsletter among a bunch of other things that had been piling up. It was already past lunch time and I was starting to get hungry. I must mention here that for many reasons, I’ve stopped eating white rice, refined flours, sugar and dairy (except for yogurt) among other foods. It’s a part cleanse and a part diet that focuses on eating foods with a low glycemic index. This forces me to cook most meals at home as eating out is a huge challenge. A quick peek into the pantry revealed cracked wheat (dalia), some asparagus, half a bell pepper, and lots of onions that I could use.

I sliced the red onions and bell pepper. The asparagus was simply cut into two inch pieces. The pearl onions took the most time since their skins are annoying to remove. You don’t have to use them – I just like their flavor. Just slice the ends off and slice into two halves before peeling the skin off with a knife. I threw 2 cups of the cracked wheat into the rice cooker along with the cut vegetables. For flavor, I added 3/4 teaspoons of the homemade South Indian curry spice blend that my aunt had given me, a 1/4 teaspoon of black cumin, 1/4 teaspoon of turmeric, 1/4 teaspoon coriander and 1/2 teaspoon salt. You can add a garam masala blend or any other spice blend that you like. Or just whole spices like cumin and cinnamon would work well too. This is a great recipe to experiment with.

I turned on the rice cooker after adding 3.5 cups water. It took me just a couple of minutes to clean everything up.

Half an hour later, with no additional effort or needing to peek under the lid, I went from this:

indian meal in 15 minutes

Quick meal: Cracked wheat with asparagus, bell pepper, onions and spices

to this: Lunch was ready!

one pot easy indian meal

A one pot Indian meal!

easy fresh indian food

Asparagus and red onion with cracked wheat

So 15 minutes of hands-on effort was more than enough to to make this delicious lunch and clean up. I did, however, need another 5 minutes to take these photos. Now this is not the best Indian food by any means. No, its no chicken curry or biryani or dosa. It’s a simple, satisfying, nutritious meal with Indian flavor. Perfect for a busy day. Bonus tip? Make extra and you have lunch covered for the next day!

3 Comments

Filed under India, Recipe

3 responses to “An Indian meal in 15 minutes?

  1. Pingback: Meet Veena’s Market | NBIS | Network for Business Innovation and Sustainability

  2. devikakumar

    Love this recipe Veena!

Leave a Reply

