Bell Peppers with Aloo Gobi Stuffing

[This was originally written on 11/21/11 for a guest post on the Gnaana blog.]

One of my favorite things about Fall is Thanksgiving and one of my favorite things about Thanksgiving is stuffing! And I was eager to create a new stuffing recipe based on the popular Indian vegetable dish – Aloo Gobi (potatoes and cauliflower cooked and sautéed with onions and warm spices). But apparently there is a shortage of organic cauliflower around these parts and my neighborhood grocery store was out of this vegetable.

My eyes spied the Romanesco Broccoli also called the Romanesco Cauliflower. Being fractal lovers, I knew my husband and I would appreciate it in our stuffing. But it does have a slightly sharper taste than cauliflower. Should I continue my search for cauliflower or would the Romanesco Broccoli work well with my recipe and would others like it? There was only one way to find out. I bought it!

Just one shelf down from the Romanesco Broccoli was brightly colored bell peppers, just calling out to me. My recipe took another turn in that moment and I decided to stuff them with my aloo ‘gobi’ stuffing.

Sometimes when I experiment like this or make too many changes to a recipe, the dish doesn’t turn out too well. Fortunately, this story had a happy ending. The bell peppers with aloo gobi stuffing were a visual and tasty treat.

So if you’re looking for an Indian twist this Thanksgiving, here’s a fabulous recipe for you.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Gorgeous fall colors and the beautiful romanesco broccoli

Bell pepper 'cups' with aloo gobi stuffing

A vegetarian feast

 

Leave a comment

Filed under America, Holiday, India

Leave a Reply

